Authorized Certified Copy
The California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 permits only specific individuals to receive an Authorized Certified Copy of a death record. An Authorized Certified Copy may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security, and obtain other services related to an individual's identity.
Important NOTE: Effective January 1, 2014, due to a *California State Mandated Fee Increase, fees for certified copies of a Death Certificate will be $21.00 (and $18.00 for a Fetal Death Certificate). We apologize for any inconvenience.
Death Certificate Application
Spanish - Solicitud de Certificado de Muerte
Informational Certified Copy
Those who are not authorized may receive an Informational Certified Copy with the words "Informational, not a valid document to establish identity" imprinted across the face of the copy.
Sworn StatementWhen ordering in person, an authorized individual must complete an approved application including a sworn statement under penalty of perjury to receive an Authorized Certified Copy. A notarized statement sworn under penalty of perjury must accompany orders sent by mail to ensure that the requester is an authorized person.
Individuals Permitted to Receive an Authorized Certified Copy
- A parent or legal guardian of the registrant
- A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code
- A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business
- A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant
- An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate
- A funeral director ordering certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of an individual specified in paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, or subdivision (a) of Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code